

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

N\$8.00 WINDHOEK - 20 January 2023 No. 8010

CONTENTS

Page

PROCLAMATION

No. 2 Determination of date and place for submission of nominations of candidates, determination of polling day, and notification of name of person appointed as returning officer, for by-election for member of Oshana Regional Council: Okaku Constituency: Oshana Region: Electoral Act, 2014

I

Proclamation

by the

PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

No. 2

DETERMINATION OF DATE AND PLACE FOR SUBMISSION OF NOMINATIONS OF CANDIDATES, DETERMINATION OF POLLING DAY, AND NOTIFICATION OF NAME OF PERSON APPOINTED AS RETURNING OFFICER, FOR BY-ELECTION FOR MEMBER OF OSHANA REGIONAL COUNCIL: OKAKU CONSTITUENCY: OSHANA REGION: ELECTORAL ACT, 2014

Under the powers vested in me by section 64 of the Electoral Act, 2014 (Act No. 5 of 2014), I make known, with respect to the by-election for a member of the Oshana Regional Council, Okaku Constituency in the Oshana Region, that -

- (a) I have under subsection (1)(a)(ii) of that section, on the recommendation of the Electoral Commission of Namibia determined -
 - (i) Saturday, 4 February 2023 as the day on which the submission of nominations of candidates must take place; and

- (ii) the place and time for the submission of the nominations referred to in subparagraph (i) to be the Okaku Constituency Office during the hours 09h00 until 11h00;
- (b) I have under subsection (1)(b) of that section, read with section 10(3) of the Regional Councils Act, 1992 (Act No. 22 of 1992), on the recommendation of the Electoral Commission of Namibia determined Friday, 17 March 2023 as the polling day on which the by-election must take place; and
- (c) under subsection (1)(c)(i) of that section, Mr. Naftal Homateni Shipanga has been appointed in terms of section 65(1)(a) of that Act as a returning officer for the by-election.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of Namibia at Windhoek, this 19th day of January, Two Thousand and Twenty-Three.

HAGE G. GEINGOB PRESIDENT BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT